UPDATED: Update on browser crash problems


Update: I think it’s fixed now. I removed the coComment box that appeared at the bottom of the sidebar, and now things load fine in IE 6.0. I’ve been running that coComment box there for a while now, but they recently did a major upgrade and something entailed in that upgrade was causing the problem. Qumana is absolved, and thank goodness, because I’m really coming to like the software (and the fact that the developers actually respond in person to user issues).

But please do report any other wonky browser behavior to me, and I’ll try to do what I can. Thanks for your patience!

The earlier parts of this post are below the fold:

The browser issues I reported earlier this morning appear to be for real. I am currently using Internet Explorer 6.0 on a WinXP machine, and when I call up the main CO9s page, the image header loads and the sidebar loads, but the posts don’t come up. Instead, IE sort of freezes up, and what’s worse, the entire computer slows down. So some kind of memory issue is happening with the most recent posts.

I’ve contacted my hosting service for technical advice, but I have a sneaking suspicion it’s got something to do with Qumana, since this issue wasn’t happening until two days ago. If so, it’d be too bad, because Qumana is a nice piece of software. But perhaps there’s a formatting issue in Qumana’s blog editor that causes major problems with IE 6.0. If anybody, especially the Qumana people, want to weigh in on that, it’d be appreciated.

On the other hand, I’m now noticing that even though I am using WordPress’ built-in editor to write this post, I can’t get it to preview.

I’m considering going back this morning and removing all the posts I’ve made with Qumana, running them through a simple text editor to remove the formatting, and then reposting using the straight-up WordPress editor. If so, then obviously most of the recent articles will not be viewable for a while, so bear with me.

Anybody having this sort of problem with a browser othen than IE? Or on a non-Windows operating system?

6 Comments

Filed under Blog announcements, Casting Out Nines, Technical difficulties, Uncategorized

6 responses to “UPDATED: Update on browser crash problems

  1. Jon Husband

    Hi .. Jon from Qumana. This post is being forwarded to technical / user support to check this out. It doesn’t seem to have been reported beffore, and I think there’s a fair number of usrs who do or will have used Q in conjunction with IE 6.

    That said, i don’t want to default immediately to a defensive position, nor deny that it could be something to do with Qumana. Hence, the immediate relay of this post to people who will know more about how to check it out.

    Me or someone else will get back to you, either in the comments or by email if I can find an address on your blog.

  2. There is definitely something fishy going on. This page crashed IE7 and Maxthon. But … since it was this page, written without Qumana, I’m guessing that it might be a sidebar component. Did you add CoComment recently?

    It is very easy, regardless of editor, to accidentially put something in that messes up the page. I did it recently on my on blog. First I’d try to unpublish the suspect post, then look at sidebar parts.

    Ping me if you have any questions.

    Tris

  3. JimMc

    At work I’m viewing your site using Firefox 1.5 on WinXP without any problems. My Firefox plugin NoScript shows that your website is firing off a lot of scripts, including those from:

    cocomment.com
    sitemeter.com
    bloglines.com
    technorati.com
    My guess is that the slowdown is coming from one of those.

  4. jon and tris — my email is castingout9s@gmail.com.

    Now that you mention it Jim, I’ve had coComment on for some time now, but they recently updated their software. I think I’ll try removing that and see what happens.

  5. Christophe

    I have some troubles viewing you page: it takes a long time to get the page content. Some of your widget might still cause some blocking.
    It first stop after blogroll and then display the full page.

  6. Christophe – The blogroll is hosted by Bloglines, and sometimes it takes a few moments for it to load from there. That’s almost always momentary and the page will load faster if you just click the refresh button a few seconds later. But if there are persistent problems, let me know. Thanks!