Software for GTD


OmniGroup’s blog today has a post with a screenshot and substantive details on its highly-anticipated productivity software OmniFocus, which is based on David Allen’s Getting Things Done (GTD) religion system which I have blogged about extensively in the past. From the article, Omni clearly sounds rather shy about letting out details, and they apologize profusely for the painfully beta-like look of the GUI, but all things considered the software sounds pretty promising. I’m on the email list for beta testers, and I’m looking forward to test driving it.

Although I have to admit that iGTD, first mentioned here, has been very impressive. It’s simple to use, well thought out, has a terrific Quicksilver plugin, and is free. Omni is going to have a hard time competing with this. I’m hoping to find some time soon to do a little review writeup on how I’m using iGTD to do GTD as a prof.

Software for implementing GTD has been thin on the ground until just the last couple of months, it seems. As for me, I tried using Kinkless GTD for a few months, and it just didn’t work for me — quirky, prone to doing weird things with my data (such as underlining every task in a single project for no apparent reason), and unreliable in the synching department with iCal and my Palm PDA. Given that kGTD is basically a bunch of Applescripts hacked together to work with OmniOutliner Pro, and not a software package itself per se, I guess you have to expect some quirkiness. Still, I definitely welcome the competition.

Technorati Tags: , , ,

2 Comments

Filed under GTD, Profhacks, Software, Technology

2 responses to “Software for GTD

  1. Pingback: Yojimbo and Getting Things Done « Casting Out Nines

  2. dannielo

    For implementing GTD you can use this web-based application:

    http://www.Gtdagenda.com

    You can use it to manage your goals, projects and tasks, set next actions and contexts, use

    checklists, schedules and a calendar.
    A mobile version and iCal are available too.