Professors freak out


Students aren’t the only ones who lose it as finals week approaches:

  • A professor at Alabama’s Calhoun Community College was arrested for leaving threatening voicemail messages… to herself. The charge was making a terrorist threat. (Story here.)
  • A part-time geography instructor at Ozarks Technical Community College in Missouri was fired after opening his class by banging a briefcase on a desk and saying “I’m a suicide bomber”. (Story here.)

Is it me, or does it seem like these kinds of things happen disproportionately at community colleges?

[via InsideHigherEd.com]

2 Comments

Filed under Higher ed, Life in academia

2 responses to “Professors freak out

  1. Myrtle

    Ouch. You went there.

  2. Just another liberal professor

    Well, I’ve often said that I’d go crazy if I had a 5/5 teaching load…