Surprise! New theme!


I happened to run across this theme at the WordPress main website, and I had to try it out. I like it, personally — it’s got quite a bit more zing to it than the plaintxt theme I’ve been using. I like the very Apple-y look to it. And, to me at least, the text seems easier to read, although you don’t see as much of the posts as you did in the former theme. I also like that the category names are at the top of the post and the Technorati tags are at the bottom; I never liked having them right next to each other as they were before.

The sidebars might come across now as being a little over-the-top (although no new sidebar content has been added). But this theme gives users some control over that. You can actually move the boxes in the sidebar around to wherever you want within that sidebar, and if you just want to tone it down a bit, you can minimize the boxes by clicking on the little circle in the upper-right. (Minor quibble: A truly OS X-motivated theme would have the circle in the upper LEFT.)

Whaddaya think? Love it? Hate it? Or what?

3 Comments

Filed under Blog announcements, Casting Out Nines

3 responses to “Surprise! New theme!

  1. I like it. I like the little calendar with the date on the post. It looks really nice.

  2. Jackie

    I like it. I too wish the window for the post were a bit wider… maybe next version. The text seems easy to read to me –although with RSS feed, I didn’t really notice any difficulty beforeūüôā

  3. It turns out there is a two-column version of this theme, with only one long sidebar. I might try that out a little later. That would give the posts a little more real estate on the screen.