Screencasting proceeds at a limp


I’ve spent most of the afternoon working on screencasts. I’ve made two of them, not counting one that I ended up deleting because it went too long. (I’m trying to stick to a 15-minute limit on these things.) I would love to share them, but…

1. The pixel resolution on Google Video is God-awful, even when I encode the screencast as high-resolution MPEG4 video. Here’s what it looks like (click to enlarge):
Latex Screencast Res Problem
You can (try to) see the whole thing here. Like I said, that’s at the high end of resolution.

Update: By contrast, here’s a screenshot of the same frame taken from the original Quicktime:
Latex Screencast Res Problem 2
The Quicktime is nice and sharp. The Google Video is illegible.
2. Both ecto and the native WordPress editor refuse to upload the original Quicktime movies. The small one I made was 22 MB, which is big but not so big it would make the server choke.

I’m certainly learning a lot about the technical side of making screencasts through all these false starts. Like I’ve said before, it’s a lot harder than it looks.

Any suggestions for how to get video to look halfway decent on Google Video? Can it even be done?


Technorati Tags: , ,

Comments Off on Screencasting proceeds at a limp

Filed under Educational technology, Screencasts, Software, Technology

Comments are closed.