Jericho


 Obrazky JerichoI found out during one of my interminable waits in the Charlotte airport that CBS has this site called Innertube, where you can view entire episodes of some of its shows for free. Included in that list of shows is the entire first series of Jericho, a drama that has become a cult favorite even though it was cancelled after its first series. I watched the first episode in the airport, and I was hooked.

It’s about life in a small town after a devastating terrorist nuclear attack on the United States. I have always been a sucker for post-nuclear holocaust fiction — call it a morbid holdover fascination from having grown up in the 80’s. Jericho is small-town slice-of-life drama, meets post-holocaust, meets government conspiracies — all in a neat, weekly serial package. This is one of the few TV shows I’ve made an effort to watch lately, and I’m not the only fan. There’s the Emmy-nominated web site and even a Jericho wiki where the real paranoids theorize about who attacked us, what’s in Hawkins’ basement, and more.

I’ve watched three more of the episodes on line during my free time here in Jersey and I am thoroughly indoctrinated into the cult. You can buy the whole first season on iTunes for $30 and I am seriously considering it, for the flight back to Indy.

Technorati Tags:

16 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

16 responses to “Jericho

  1. This is great! So glad to see Jericho hooked you too. It’s an awesome show.

  2. Susan

    Jericho is the only show on TV today that I actually enjoy. I’m glad to hear that others are getting hooked on it also.

  3. You may not want to buy the whole first season — they’re reshowing it on Friday nights on CBS.

  4. I was thinking of getting it for the inevitable airport wait and for the flight back to Indy. But I will probably TiVo it as well.

  5. Grace

    YEA!! Another convert!! I was hooked after the first episode as well and haven’t missed an episode yet.
    LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, this show!!
    Welcome to the fold and PLEASE……….
    PASS IT ON!!
    If you know any Nielsen families, beg them to watch please.

    JERICHO is on CBS on Friday nights with first season reruns.
    NEW episodes to return at a yet undisclosed date.

    JERICHO ROCKS!!

  6. Ahma

    Isn’t it amazing how many people see the pilot episode and are totally addicted! Just the commercials last summer before the season started were enough for me. Thanks for the great article. The season 1 DVD comes out October 2nd, amazon has a special price for preordering.

  7. Patricia

    Got you too huh? Thanks for joining those of us who enjoy quality TV.

  8. Mark

    I just got done watching the first season of Jericho. I am totally hooked and I’ll definitely be watching in the fall!

  9. Kelly

    Welcome new fan! I bought a few eps on iTunes myself, and anxiously await the official DVD of Season One.
    If you ever get a chance to watch the appointed TV broadcast, please do so too! The show’s future hangs in part by its ratings.

  10. mpbnice

    Welcome to the Rangers.

    Please let CBS know you’re a fan at audsvcs@cbs.com

    Can’t wait for the new episodes to start!

  11. Sharon

    Yippee another new convert – It happens everyday!! All it takes is just one look or view. The DVD is being released October 2 – you can preorder on amazon now!!

  12. AZlady

    Thats all it takes of Jericho. One or two episodes and then you’re hooked.

  13. Ann Marie

    If you don’t want to buy the DVD, try putting it on your Netflix que. Welcome to the show🙂

  14. KWilbert

    We love to welcome new fans! Enjoy the reruns! You may want to buy the first season DVD because CBS didn’t have the time to run all of the episodes this summer. It will get you ready for season 2.

  15. kestral

    Thank you for letting people know what we Jericho fans have known all along…THIS SHOW IS GREAT!! It’s great to hear that Jericho is still gathering new fans! Welcome to the NUT house!!

  16. Pingback: Jericho returns « Casting Out Nines