Wednesday 5×5 for September 12


I always like to visit the blogs of people who take time to comment here at Casting Out Nines. When I visited Mike’s blog, I got a pleasant surprise — the notion of a 5×5. As he writes, a 5×5 is just a collection of five lists, each with a different topic, and each containing five entries. I love lists and blog readers seem to be attracted to them, so I thought — why not steal appropriate his idea and do my own? Besides, I need more weekly features than the Friday Random 10. So, here’s my first attempt.

5 Favorite Cities I’ve Visited but Never Lived In

  1. Toronto
  2. San Diego
  3. Louisville
  4. San Antonio
  5. Asheville, NC

5 Denominations of Churches I’ve Joined in the Past

  1. Southern Baptist
  2. Presbyterian (PCA)
  3. Evangelical Free Church of America
  4. Cumberland Presbyterian
  5. Christian Church Disciples of Christ

5 Things I’d do with Powerball Winnings

  1. Pay off all debts (except mortgage; set up an annuity for that to keep the tax break!)
  2. Set up college fund for my kids
  3. Set up college fund for somebody else’s kids, like my nieces and nephews
  4. Set up retirement account for my wife and me
  5. Buy that kickin’ 36″ cinema display that I saw at the Apple Store (would wipe out all remaining winnings)

5 Good, Cheap, Low-Tech Productivity Tools

  1. Hardcover lab notebook
  2. Pilot gel pens
  3. 3×5 Index cards
  4. Spiral-bound memo pads
  5. Binder clips

5 Good Things for Breakfast

  1. Blueberry yogurt with cereal in it
  2. Omelette with tomatoes and feta cheese
  3. Old-fashioned oatmeal with fresh blueberries in it
  4. Cinnamon Life cereal
  5. Banana pancakes with bacon

5 Comments

Filed under 5x5, Weekly features

5 responses to “Wednesday 5×5 for September 12

  1. virusdoc

    I hear people talk about not paying off their mortgage all the time because of the huge tax break it gives you. But this is a complete lie fed to us by the mortgage industry–there is no financial advantage to keeping your mortgage if you have the ability to pay it off. If you are paying 7% on you mortgage, at best you will get back 15% of the interest if you itemize. So, if you keep paying the mortgage, you are paying 5.95% of the principal each year after the tax break. If you pay off the mortgage in full, you are paying 0% of the principal per year in interest. On a $200K mortgage, that saves you nearly $12K a year. Some people claim that having the huge interest payment bumps them up into the itemizing range for other deductible expenses, but even in this instance the amount you might save (say, from regaining 15% of deductible health and business expenses) will be far less than the interest you’re paying on the mortgage.

    Correct me if I’m wrong…

  2. virusdoc

    Does this mean the biologist wins a math argument? Cool! 🙂

  3. No, it means finances make my brain hurt, and I haven’t had a chance to forward your question to the family CFO (= the Mrs.). But if it makes you feel good……..

  4. Pingback: 5×5 for September 19 « Casting Out Nines

  5. good idea. if we start doing this, do we link to each other (like all the other “memes”)? Actually, I hope not. But I’ll check back to see yours in the future!