Appliance envy brewing


I’ve been very happy with our Whirlpool Gold appliances we bought when we moved into the new house last year, but every now and then I get the slightest tinge of “I want that” when I see things like this:

espresso.jpg

This is a newer-model Whirlpool refrigerator. The thing on the left side is your usual water/ice dispenser. The thing on the right? An espresso maker. Evidently it’s one of those one-cup coffee pod brewers. Dispenses hot water too.  I’m not an espresso drinker, and I drink a lot more than one cup of coffee every morning, but this is pretty cool nonetheless.

[Hat tip: Thoughts and Experiments]

4 Comments

Filed under Geekhood, Technology

4 responses to “Appliance envy brewing

  1. virusdoc

    As someone who’s had inexpensive espresso machines, I can tell you they are a mess to clean up and break easily. Since I doubt Whirlpool put a top-of-the-line espresso machine in their fridge, it’s very likely you’d have a nonfunctional unit within a few years, and servicing it will be very expensive. You’re better off buying a standalone for $40 or $50 and tossing it in the trash when it craps out.

  2. We had one of those espresso machines too at one point and I don’t think we ever used it past the first time. Like you said, a pain to clean up and breaks easily.

    On the other hand, I can definitely see the advantage in having on-demand purified hot water. We’re got a little water dispenser in our building that will pump out hot water and it’s great for tea or boil-and-eat snacks. But in a refrigerator? That would eat up a lot of space inside the fridge. Not to mention the problem of having HOT stuff coming out of a device designed to keep things COLD.

    So my interest is food-geek-related only.

  3. Jami

    Just FYI… If you’re interested in fast hot water… I would suggest this:
    http://www.bedbathandbeyond.com/product.asp?order_num=-1&SKU=104045&RN=687
    I had no idea this thing even existed and it is now my favorite kitchen appliance!!

  4. Jami, I had something similar to that back in the dark ages when I was in college. How many bowls of ramen noodles did I make with my little hotpot?

    At home I just stick a measuring cup of water into the microwave for 1:30 and I’ve got all the hot water I could possibly need, but here at work it’s nice to just have it dispensed. In fact, it’s time for tea right now!