Leopard and OpenOffice


Update: I’m getting a ton of visitors to this article, so I just wanted to say “welcome”. After reading this article, please sample my Top 12 Posts list and my other articles on technology and educational technology

I don’t run OpenOffice on my Macbook since I use MS Office or iWork for everything, but I have a ton of old OpenOffice files sitting around, left over from my Linux days when I did use OpenOffice. I just discovered that under Leopard, you can Quick-Look an OpenOffice word processing document (with the .odt format) even though OpenOffice is not installed:

oo-ql.jpg

And if you double-click an OpenOffice word processing document, it opens up — in TextEdit, fully formatted!

oo-ql2.jpg

Maybe TextEdit played nicely with OpenOffice documents all along, but it’s still a nice discovery. Leopard’s got its quirks and flaws, but it also seems to have a lot of nice undocumented features like these.

1 Comment

Filed under Apple, Technology

One response to “Leopard and OpenOffice

  1. This is a new feature that has come along with Leopard. In the future there will be a QuickLook plugin for viewing the other ooo filetypes too.