Is this really true about Maple 11?


I just had a visit from one of our IT people to help me upgrade from Maple 10 to Maple 11. (Hoping that this would clear up the Maple/Leopard incompatibility issue.) We have a multiple-seat license for Maple that involves having some of the licenses on our campus network. Only a certain number of copies of Maple can be open at any given time.

But the install disc never made it out of the paper sleeve. The IT guy told me that, with Maple 11, you must be connected to the campus server in order to use it, due to the nature of the network license. And he said this was a new “feature” of Maple 11. With Maple 10, I installed the software along with a license file, and then I could use it wherever I wanted, network connection or no. But apparently Maple 11 can only be used on campus and when I am connected to the campus network. (I can’t connect from off-campus.)

I handed the disc back to the IT guy and apologized for wasting his time, as I have no use for software that I cannot use off campus.

Is this really true about Maple 11? If so, I’m very disappointed and that much more eager to learn Sage.

2 Comments

Filed under Computer algebra systems, Technology

2 responses to “Is this really true about Maple 11?

  1. virusdoc

    Doesn’t your college offer a VPN connection? Most likely Maple is using a “keyserver” licensing approach, which is quite common with high-priced software that sells by the “concurrent user” method. If this is true, then attaching to the campus VPN will allow your Mac to talk to the keyserver as if it were on the LAN.

  2. virusdoc

    Oh, and generally the keyservers only authenticate at launch, so if you launch Maple 11 on campus, leave in running but hide it in the finder, and put your Mac to sleep, you should be able to use it at home offline when your Mac wakes.