Apple read my mind (but not my wallet)


index_new_media_20080205.pngAfter saying that Apple needed to add more storage to the iPod Touch before they could count on me buying one, they have obliged. Unfortunately the prices haven’t changed, and the 16 GB (which would just barely be big enough for me) is still $399. The new 32 GB model is $499.  Look: $500 is way too much for a music player, sorry, no matter how much stuff it does.

Now all Apple has to do is make the 32 GB model $399 and the 16 GB one $299, and we’re in business. or better ye, make the 32 GB model $299. Or maybe $29.

13 Comments

Filed under Apple, Technology

13 responses to “Apple read my mind (but not my wallet)

  1. virusdoc

    I had the same thought when I saw the product announcement–I hoped they had dropped the 16 gb price. They will eventually. What do you need 16GB of mobile storage for, anyway? I would use the thing as a mobile email device while out on campus, since the whole place is wifi’d.

    Got my MBAir. Very nice. A little slow on hard disk tasks like launching (due to the low rpm ipod disk running it). The keyboard is huge, which is taking some getting used to. I’ve been using a sony vaio ultraportable with a 10″ screen for 5 years, so I’m very used to typing on a cramped keyboard and my fingers are having trouble finding things back where they belong. The trackpad with multitouch is really intuitive and useful once you learn the simple gestures. Battery life is fantastic for a laptop (about 3.5-4 hours in real browsing life. The 5 hours figure Apple quotes could only be obtained with the wifi off and screen rather dim). However, compared to my sony that is still short, because I had purchased the large extra capacity battery for it. It hung off the back about an inch and was heavy, but I could get 5-6 hours continuous use without difficulty. All in all, though, the Air is a great device and your only choice if you want a full featured Mac OS device that you can carry everywhere and not notice the weight.

  2. @Virusdoc: Thanks for the MBA review. That sounds pretty close to a lot of the other reviews from Apple blogs around the web. The MBA is not for me, but it’s definitely the right choice for a lot of people.

    As for my iPod storage fetish, I have 12 GB of music alone on my 20 GB iPod, then there’s about half a gig of photos. If I start putting video files on it, 16 GB will get eaten up in a hurry. And call me selfish but I want to have ALL my music with me, ALL the time.

  3. Chris

    Get a PS3 and a PSP. With remote play, you use the PSP to stream audio, video, games, pics, whatever from the PS3. Then you don’t have to worry about storage since it’s expandable on the PS3 using USB hard drives. OR, you can do what i did and host all of your music on your PC as a media server, and use the PS3 to stream it.

    I know you’re an apple guy, but Sony really hit the nail on the head with the PS3 when it comes to a multimedia centerpiece. It does EVERYTHING.

  4. So what if I want to go on a business trip and take music and video along with me? I don’t really want to haul around a PS3 with me on the plane.

  5. Chris

    the PS3 stays at home connected to your internet connection. Music and movies can either be stored on the PSP itself, or streamed from the PS3.

    The best way to look at it is the PSP as a mobile extension of the PS3. It’s quite novel.

  6. Chris

    Allow me to clarify: Imagine your ipod could connect to your home pc from anywhere via wifi.

  7. virusdoc

    That’s got to be illegal.

  8. Chris

    Illegal? It’s an advertised function!

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Remote_Play

  9. virusdoc

    But you’re basically pirating your own music by broadcasting it over the webernet. The license to own music doesn’t include the license to broadcast it. Besides, couldn’t anybody intercept it and download it? I realize it’s technically “self-to-self” file sharing, but that’s only one hacker away from “peer-to-peer.”

    There’s no way the recording industry will let this feature exist for long. Anything that user friendly and useful will be declared illegal eventually. They won’t be happy until we have to pay a fee every single time we listen to a song, and a separate fee for every single device the song resides on.

    Plus, you can’t use it on an airplane.

  10. Chris

    You should really read the info on it. It’s totally legal. And you can use it on an airplane – songs and movies can be stored locally to the psp.

  11. virusdoc

    @Chris: you’re a good sport. I was mostly joking. I agree–it’s a cool system I hadn’t ever heard of. I’m still with Robert in wanting my music in a “hard copy” in my device for those frequent internet-free times. But Sony has a winning idea there. I am, however, surprised to see a major record label do something so consumer-friendly. Especially Sony.

  12. Chris

    Hey, if there were a street team, I’d be on it. Just tryin to get the word out on what seems to be a commonly overlooked machine. We were skeptical when we dropped a ton of money on the ps3, but when we started really tearing into the features we were sold. Truth is, at times the video games take a back seat to the other features like blu-ray, media servers and the fully functional browser. There’s nothing like pulling up old episodes of police squad from youtube on your big screen! Even when we don’t use it, it’s cool to run the protein-folding @home program (neat visuals).

    . . . and for robert, it comes ready to install linux! Match that with the scalability of the Cell processor, and let the dorkdom flow!

  13. @Chris: you’re a pretty good evangelist for the PS3. It sounds like some pretty impressive technology. How does the PS3 compare to the Wii in terms of kid-friendliness? Our 4-year old is probably old enough to enjoy video games but it seems like the Wii is less complicated than the PS3.