Bento and GTD?


This blog has gotten a lot of search engine hits lately from queries of the form “Bento GTD”. I guess that’s because I wrote about Bento once and I have written a lot about GTD. And while I was demo-ing Bento, once or twice it crossed my mind that an intrepid person could possibly hack it into a GTD platform. But it appears like there is some kind of movement out there for using Bento for GTD. (Or maybe just one person who can’t stop hitting the “Submit” button on his search engine.) Would one of you folks who are searching along these lines mind filling us in on this, in the comments?

I found Bento to be merely OK — more pretty than useful, and I was able to cobble together what I really needed (a searchable, rich-text repository of information on my students) using VoodooPad Lite, which is free. I didn’t think Bento was worth the $79 $49 price tag. But I’m cheap, so that’s not informative.

Update: Bento is $49, not $79. I was getting the price for Bento confused with the price for iWork. That’s still a bit much for me, but again, I’m cheap.

4 Comments

Filed under GTD, Profhacks, Software, Technology

4 responses to “Bento and GTD?

  1. This discussion group focuses on how to integrate BENTO with GTD. Pretty good ideas

    David

  2. dannielo

    For implementing GTD you might try out this web-based application:

    Gtdagenda.com

    You can use it to manage your goals, projects and tasks, set next actions and contexts, use checklists, schedules and a calendar.
    A mobile version is available too.

    As with the last update, now Gtdagenda has full Someday/Maybe functionality, you can easily move your tasks and projects between “Active”, “Someday/Maybe” and “Archive”. This will clear your mind, and will boost your productivity.

    Hope you like it.

  3. Dan

    With the new added iCal feed, now you can subscribe to Gtdagenda with third party services like Google Calendar or Apple iCal, and stay up-to-date with your Gtdagenda tasks.

  4. Thanks for the suggestions (I came to this site looking for GTD and Bento). I am trying to find a good program for archiving information in one spot. Mostly pdfs and picture files of screen print outs. Maybe Bento is not what I need .