A cure for ADD?


Sol Lederman, who runs the blog Wild About Math!, has started a new blog about something called Brain Integration, billed as “a revolutionary stress management process that permanently improves the flow of information in the brain in less than ten hours, with no drugs or surgery.” Sol describes the focus of his new blog:

It journals my personal experience with being CURED from a lifetime of ADD. Before Brain Integration I couldn’t sit still for very long, I’d shy away from detail-oriented tasks or tasks that required organization, my focus was poor, I would get easily distracted, and my self-esteemed suffered from all of that. Post-ADD, I’m calm, centered, can sit at the computer for hours at a time if I need to get something done, I don’t get distracted when I need to focus, I’m organized, and I’m willing to do detail-oriented tasks.

Sounds interesting, and somehow it seems counter-cultural to suggest that ADD is a  condition which ought to be cured and can be without expensive and pervasive drug therapy.

I remember working during graduate school as a tutor at one of those expensive tutoring service franchises in an affluent part of Nashville, and we’d get parents all the time coming in proclaiming — with an attitude that was approaching pride — that their child was ADD and/or Learning Disabled in Math. Whenever I’d suggest that, with proper tutoring and learning strategies being employed, the child might once and for all get over ADD or LD, the parents actually seemed appalled, like if that ever happened then their child would have to live up to normal expectations, God forbid.

(Disclaimer: Before anyone gets offended at that last statement — Two of the better students I have ever had in my career were clinically diagnosed with ADD/ADHD, and rather than accept that they simply were psychologically unable to perform well at college level math or insist that success in math be defined down to terms they could easily accomplish, they worked with me to learn how to study the subject in ways that worked for them, and then worked their tails off, and ended up outperforming most of the other non-ADD students in the class. I think that they might have discovered on their own something like what Sol is blogging about now. I’ve got no problem working with ADD students; what I do have a problem with is someone accepting an ADD diagnosis as though it were some divine revelation of their eternal destiny, forever capping their ability to work and think and totally out of their control.)

2 Comments

Filed under Education

2 responses to “A cure for ADD?

  1. Robert,

    Thank you for bringing my post to the attention of your readers and for your comments.

    I’m 44. I lived with ADD for as far back as I can remember – to age 6 and perhaps earlier. I did ok in school because I’m very bright. So, I could compensate for learning struggles by using my IQ. I went to Stanford, majored in Math, and had a successful 20-year career in the computer industry.

    I absolutely agree that ADD kids can excel in school if they’re taught in ways that work for them. And, I have no doubt that ADD kids can outperform other kids, especially if they use their hyperfocus abilities to their advantage.

    There’s a lot of neurological stuff in my family so I’ve had a special interest in brain functioning for many years. I’m not suggesting that Brain Integration is the magic bullet for everyone but it is something worth considering if nothing else helps, or even if things help but don’t help enough to avoid struggling. Before Brain Integration I tried ADD drugs (which did help but I wasn’t willing to use them forever), special diets, cleansing, stress management, Brain Gym, and dozens of other approaches. For me, Brain Integration was a CURE. A month later I can concentrate, tune out distractions, stay on task, and do many things with greater confidence and less effort.

    Robert – I’m not clear about your statement that others may discover what I’ve discovered on their own. t I couldn’t have cured my ADD with willpower or a placebo. Please clarify.

    Again – thanks for giving attention to my post.

  2. Pingback: Brain Integration Blog › Sol’s list of improvements from Brain Integration