Theme experiment


Update: OK, pretty much all the comments I got regarding the light-on-dark theme were negative, and the more I worked with that theme, the less I liked it anyway. So we’re back to what we had before. But I’m still probably going to tweak the sidebar for greater cleanliness. If I end up removing something that you really like, yell at me. 

Just trying on a new theme for size. Don’t adjust your set. If you’re reading this via RSS, click through and let me know what you think. 

White-on-black web designs usually make my eyes hurt, but I like this one somehow. The “sidebar” on this theme is actually in the footer. I can’t decide if that’s a good thing (because it leads to a cleaner-looking design) or a bad thing (because nobody looks at the footer of a blog unless they are told to). That’s partially why I am trying it out over the weekend and letting you, the reader, give some input. How nice of me!

9 Comments

Filed under Casting Out Nines

9 responses to “Theme experiment

  1. My two-cents for what it’s worth (generally, just that):

    Would have missed the ‘sidebar’ completely if you hadn’t mentioned it. I like the colors. Nice, clean look. And, does hurt my eyes (but probably should be wearing my specs so not sure this is a great barometer).

  2. I find it hard to read, but I am 46. And I read your site on RSS anyway.

  3. Well, since you asked for RSS-clickthrough comments, here goes:

    1) The comment font size is too small (at least in my UA (Kubuntu, Firefox, 1200×800).

    2) I really don’t like the sidebar-as-the-footer. It comes across looking like a broken layout (e.g. incorrect width settings, causing the sidebar to flow beneath the main content).

    3) The layout certainly draws attention primarily to the most important content: your posts.

    4) I do like the colors. The background has just enough white in it to allow for comfortable reading.

    5) That said, the light foreground/dark background still produces a bit of the halo effect. You might try modifying the letter-spacing attribute for post content and comments.

    Hope this helps!

  4. Since you’ve asked for click-through comments, I figured that I’d give you some ideas.

    ChaosTheory doesn’t really work terribly well for blog, mainly because you’ve got TONS of categories and TONS of other stuff going on in the sidebar. A more efficient choice would have the sidebar, well… erm, on the side. Haha. If you REALLY like the basic layout of this theme though, I tend to lean more towards the black version of Hemingway. It’s more clean, crisp, and to the point. I believe that it shows only your two most recent posts on the main page, though.

    All-in-all, I just don’t think that this theme suits your blog all that well. I think that some reorganizing or a different theme would work better.😉

  5. Too easy to miss the bottom

  6. The font is much too small for me.

  7. virusdoc

    It’s very hard to tell where one comment ends and the next begins. I much preferred the old style. And as one of your most prolific commenters, you don’t want me to boycott the site, do you? 🙂

  8. wpm1955

    I think the appearance is nice, but personally find it MUCH harder to read. I think if you kept this theme permanently, I wouldn’t come to read nearly as often. Good luck on choosing a theme you like.

    Madame Monet
    Writing, Painting, Music, and Wine
    winewriter.wordperss.com

  9. @virusdoc: I noticed what you’re saying about the comments as well. And I agree that it’s irritating. Definitely a downside.

    @chip: Now that I’m typing a comment, I think the font here is too small as well.

    I’ll leave this theme up a little while longer, but 99% likely change it back overnight. I guess I’m just looking for a little cleaner interface. Maybe I’ll try out another theme, since I’m getting such good comments here.