What is a basic syllabus in educational technology?


So I’m plotting out my tactical plans for research and scholarship over the next year right now — my imagination being stoked by the completion of my Statement of Scholarship — and I’d like to go deeper into educational technology on a number of levels. I’d like not only to stay abreast of the rapidly-changing face of the technology being used in schools, but also the social implications of that technology, the legal issues behind it, and the technical nuts/bolts/bits of how this stuff works in the first place (including the computer network/programming side of things).

I’m just a user and a self-appointed pundit of ed tech, so I have no idea exactly where to start if I want really to go deeper on this subject. I do know that I’m going to swallow hard and read Digital Natives, Digital Immigrants by Prensky carefully (as opposed to skimmig it as I have done in the past) even though I disbelieve in nearly everything I’ve drawn out of that essay. And I have Friedman’s The World is Flat, which seems to be a seminal work among School 2.0 people, on my bookshelf at work waiting to be read. But what other suggestions would you readers have?

Remember, I’m looking not to become a mindless School 2.0 zombie (that takes no effort at all) but a person who is fluent with all the important aspects of ed tech, including the “tech”.

3 Comments

Filed under Educational technology, Scholarship, Social software, Technology, Web 2.0

3 responses to “What is a basic syllabus in educational technology?

  1. Ok, Robert, I may not be on the right track here, but I’d really suggest digging deep into the ISTE Standards – understanding the standards (whether you like them or not) helps understand the framework the technovangelists are working with. I’d also suggest digging into some of the social media work out there – Chris Brogan, Aaron Strout being just 2 of them – knowing how all of “this” is being used outside of the edu world is the key to understanding the basis of WHY we’re teaching it to our students.

    I’ll keep thinking of some books for you…….I have one on my shelf I’ve been trying to dig into for awhile now – Transforming Schools with Technology by Andrew Zucker – I’ll get back to you on my thoughts there.

  2. Zac

    Hi Robert. I enjoy your blog.

    Some thoughts on your quest:

    For an insight into what Singapore is doing (I have lived there for 11 years), you may be interested in their vision for “Intelligent Nation 2015”, their 10-year blueprint: iN2015. Here’s a country that is almost obsessed with future thinking, and is willing to put the $$ into infrastructure and education to achieve it.

    How Computer Games Help Children Learn by David Shaffer is an interesting read. He should have named it “What People Learn From Computer Simulations”, but that’s another story.

    Finally, Rischard’s High Noon: 20 Global Problems 20 Years to Solve Them talks about the tremendous opportunities and challenges of the new world economy. And it is obvious that governments cannot – and will not – solve these 20 problems.

    Oh, and a final thought… How to communicate math in a Web-based learning environment continues to be a key issue. The browsers continue to let us down. How does this aspect affect online math learning?

  3. Pingback: Lifetime reading list for geeks « Casting Out Nines