Thanksgiving break and thoughts


thanksgivingI’ll be taking a hiatus from blogging from today through Sunday as the Casting Out Nines crew travels to Tennessee to visit the grandparents for Thanksgiving. We normally make our long road trip  to the Volunteer State at Christmas, but this year that’s way too close to Harrison’s arrival to be traveling.

I love Thanksgiving because it’s the holiday that Christmas really should be — a time to relax, enjoy family and food and down time, and be thankful for all the ways you have been blessed in your life. I am pleased to say that I have much to think about in that respect: my wife, my two girls, my son on the way in a few weeks, steady employment in these tough economic times, and simply the ability to think and reflect and write like this. I think our culture would be a lot better off if we could discipline ourselves to be thankful. And our haste to skip right over Thanksgiving and go straight into Christmas, giving ourselves over to the ruthless consumerism that Christmas has come to represent, is a symptom of how sick our culture is and how badly we need Thanksgiving.

So I hope you take the chance to slow down, put away the blogging and blog-reading for a couple of days, and do the same. And in case I forget later, I’m thankful for all of you who take time out of your day to click in, read, and comment on this blog.

See you next week!

4 Comments

Filed under Blog announcements, Family, Personal, Talbert Five

4 responses to “Thanksgiving break and thoughts

  1. Thom

    A former rector of our church empasized one of his recurring themes by saying “Everything we have is a gift from God.” I may be reading too much into it, but over the years I have found much wisdom in that simple sentence: thankfulness; humility; and the universality of God. I find it particularly useful in the context you are citing.

    Thank YOU for sharing your thoughts, feelings and observations with us for so long. And good luck and God bless your whole family with Harrison’s arrival!

  2. Agreed that Thanksgiving is the better of the two holidays, at least as seen in the secular culture — and thus why it is ignored. It’s harder to capitalize (literally) on it, unless you’re Butterball. And I say this as a marketer whose most recent email totally skipped over Thanksgiving. I blame the zeitgeist?

    Still, I wonder if our culture struggles with Thanksgiving because you have to be thankful to someone, really. I mean, you can be thankful in general, sure, for a time. But if you don’t think there’s anyone in particular to thank for all you have, if you think it’s all random chance, then I wonder if eventually it seems silly to thank … the universe? You’re lucky, perhaps, but not blessed. Just thinking.

  3. @tODD: I’ve seen atheist/rationalist formulations of Thanksgiving where we are supposed to give thanks to the scientists to discovered how to make sure the turkeys are safe to eat, the engineers who invented the refrigerator and the gas range, the farmers who grow the corn, and so on. I mean, yes, we are all thankful for these people and the things they do. But doesn’t it seem a little shallow? To whom should the farmers give thanks?

  4. I should add, here’s the cue for Just Another Liberal Professor to show up and give atheists a bad name by saying something asinine.